unfinished

Candlemas


Candlemas

a new life…
was what I had in mind on this day, the day of candlemas,

a new life: trees recede as if they were strange to the forest,
all day long you waited until just one leaf unfolded, at last,

right out of its veins: saintlike resembling the one and the only.
I could refer to the bible, not fading away, for now, in my hands.

but it would tell you about a thousand virgin mary’s(*), all alike.
so let us stay together now, in ancient nature, under cloudy skies,

hurrying towards sundown(**) looking like this was ages ago.
I made an appointment with the Other One. he said: after all these years,

celebrate easter vigil, whit sunday, even our-lady ascension, really soon.
Godenkind, 02-02-2017

Dutch version:
een nieuw leven…
was wat mij voor ogen stond vandaag, dag van maria-lichtmis,

een nieuw leven: bomen wijken uit het woud als was het hen vreemd,
dagen lang heb je gewacht tot één blad zich ontvouwde

recht vanuit de nervatuur: volmaakt als het ware en het enige.
ik kan verwijzen naar de bijbel die niet verbleekt in mijn handen.

maar hij zou spreken van duizend maagd maria’s(*), allen dezelfde.
laten we dus samenblijven, in oude natuur, een bewolkte hemel,

die haastig wegdrijft naar einders(**) van wel eeuwen geleden.
ik heb een afspraak met De Andere. hij zei: na al deze jaren,

vier de paaswake, pinksteren, zelfs maria hemelvaart, heel binnenkort.
Godenkind 02-02-2017

A Candlemas poem which I finished today after a difficult start with only one 1 line 2 days ago. But then I learned about how trump makes things happen right away and… all’s well that ends well 🙈.

It is a mixed bag, because I was switching between Dutch/English all the time, Dutch being my native language.

(*)Actually, I’m not sure about the ‘virgin mary’ plural. (could be ‘virgins mary’), not even in Dutch (could be ‘maagden maria’). I assume there is only one Virgin Mary, but this is a grammatical issue, is it not?

(**)The Dutch version is different where I use the word “einders” which means “horizons” instead of the rather clumsy “zonsondergangen” which means “sundowns”.
Anyway, what about some more pancakes now?
PS Poem only suitable for underaged Christian citizens.🙈
Photos: today at noon, a few blocks away from my house; one made through sunglasses.

Standard